Tuesday, March 24, 2020

Living in a Pandemic

I was working on a post that was really important to me, but I still don't have that one done, and now there's something huge going on that I just can't ignore. I'm living through a pandemic. This is new territory for all of us because anyone still living who lived through the 1918 flu epidemic would have been a baby at that time, so they aren't likely to remember it. I'm not here to report on the statistics or the safety precautions we should all be taking. I think there are plenty of people more qualified to accurately share that information than I am.

I want to talk about this weird, suddenly different world we're all living in. We're all trying to avoid getting sick and/or spreading the virus. Even if we're not high risk of a serious case ourselves (I am), we're worried about someone who is at even greater risk (my good friend's daughter, my sister, my mother...the list is frighteningly long). Schools of all levels have closed. Some have just ended the school year or are having extended breaks, while others are setting up online lessons and/or emailing assignments. Some of the parents have lost employment (at least temporarily), some are working from home, and some are still having to go to work every day without their kids being able to go to school. For any of those people, suddenly trying to handle their kids' assignments completely on their own is getting stressful. Even the ones who seem to have time because they aren't working currently are having to jump into an entirely different life while under the huge stress of wondering how they will provide for their families. Others are trying to work their regular jobs from home AND manage their children's needs and get them to do school assignments. Or they are still working at work, but over night they had to figure out who can watch their kids because their normal schools and daycares are closed.

Some of us don't have kids, but we're worried about finances or the availability of groceries and other supplies due to the current shortages. We know the only reason for the shortages is because some people are panicking and stocking up, not because production has actually gone down. There is plenty of everything for everyone, but some people have purchased much more than they needed. But none of that changes the fact that I go to the store and can't get everything I was looking for. It's not like I can't get enough food to survive, but I can't make a list and stick to it because I have no idea what is actually in the store until I get there. (Don't even think about buying pasta at this point.)

And we haven't even talked about the isolation yet! Introverts like me aren't doing too badly with that, but even we need human connection, and what about all the extroverts out there? To all of you, I say sorry you're stuck seeing so few people! You must be going crazy! For those of you who know me in real life (which is most of you, probably, because I don't really have many readers who don't know me), feel free to call me when you just desperately need to talk to someone (or someone grown-up, if you are only seeing your kids). My job can't be done from home, so I'm just not working until my school reopens. I have a lot of free time and not that much to do with it, so I'm here for you if you want.

So we're all trying to figure out how to get through all the stress and uncertainty without losing our minds too much. And I think that's going to look different for all of us. I, for one, have been watching way too much Netflix. I wish I were reading more, but my focus hasn't been great. But I have also been trying to do yoga. I haven't been successful at doing it every day because my motivation level isn't great when I'm anxious. Exercising makes me feel better, but anxiety brain isn't logical, so sometimes I win and work out like I should, and other days I don't. I also go kayaking, which is good exercise and it gets me outside. Double benefits! I love hiking/walking, but it doesn't afford me the same ease of staying away from others because there are so many people out on the trails right now, so kayaking it is. Then I only have to be able to keep my distance getting in and out of the water. If you have any way to spend at least a little bit of time outside, I highly recommend it.

My hair is pretty much always a mess, but not usually this bad.

My kayak is really ugly, but it does the job.





Being creative also helps me. I love music, but with people home all the time, I'm too self-conscious to practice. (I know, that's dumb, but there you go.) I also like art. I'm not great at drawing or painting, but you don't have to be good at something to enjoy it. You just need a willingness to try without worrying too hard about perfection. So here is some really bad art created by me.



So be active, get outside, be creative...or maybe you have a different way to cope. But find something that brings you hope or at least a sense of normalcy. And find a way to sow some goodness!

No comments:

Post a Comment